Commonwealth (DFID) Shared Scholarship Scheme



The April 2014 deadline has now passed this entry will be updated as soon as possible.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are for taught Master’s courses only. All courses undertaken must be demonstrably relevant to the economic, social or technological development of the candidate’s home country. Awards are available at participating institutions in the UK only.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships prospectus 2014 – includes full details of the UK institutions offering Shared Scholarships in 2014.

Please note that participating universities are required to support the student stipend for the award holder (at the rate set by the UK government). The CSC funds the cost of tuition fees (at overseas rate), return airfares, and other allowances.

Applicants must:

•be nationals of (or permanently domiciled in) a developing Commonwealth country, and not currently be living or studying in a developed country (please see the Commonwealth Shared Scholarships prospectus 2014 for a list of eligible countries)
•hold a first degree at either first or upper second class level
•be sufficiently fluent in English to pursue the course
•have not previously studied for one year or more in a developed country
•be able to confirm in writing that neither they or their families would otherwise be able to pay for the proposed course of study
•be willing to confirm that they will return to their home country as soon as their period of study is complete

Funding information


Fees, travel and maintenance

Number of awards per year:

150-200 per year

Funding applies to:
International (non-EU) applicants
Funding notes:

Commonwealth countries only

Funding duration:

up to 2 years

Contacts and how to apply

Administrative contact and how to apply:

All applications must be made through the university at which you wish to study. You must check with them in the first instance for specific advice on eligibility and how to make an application, and for their own closing date. The CSC cannot accept any applications direct from candidates.

The CSC expects all Commonwealth Shared Scholarship candidates to be nominated by a university, and to have completed an application form using our Electronic Application System (EAS).

Full help on how to apply using the EAS is provided in our guides, which should be read in full before making any attempt to use the EAS.

The EAS will close to applicants on 16 April 2014 and no further applications can be made after that date. Please note that some university closing dates may be before 16 April, and that some universities may require candidates to complete a university application form, in addition to the EAS.

All universities are asked to forward their nominations to the CSC no later than 30 April 2014 using the EAS. The CSC will not accept any applications which are not submitted via the EAS to a university.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme
Commonwealth Scholarship Commission
c/o Association of Commonwealth Universities
Woburn House, 20-24 Tavistock Square
London WC1H 9HF

Telephone : 44 (0) 207 380 6700
Fax : 44 (0) 207 387 2655
E-Mail :

Deadline notes:

Usually April/May. See participating Institutions.