Commonwealth Scholarships

Commonwealth Scholarships and Fellowships Plan (CSFP)


The December 2013 deadline has now passed this entry will be updated as soon as possible.

Commonwealth Scholarships for citizens of developed Commonwealth countries* (The Bahamas, Brunei Darussalam, Cyprus, Malta, New Zealand, and Singapore) are offered for PhD and split-site (PhD) study in the UK. These scholarships are funded by the UK Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS) and the Scottish Government, in conjunction with UK universities.

*The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission regrets that it is unable to offer Commonwealth Scholarships in 2014 to citizens of Australia or Canada. The number of awards that we are able to make to developed Commonwealth country citizens in 2014 is limited, and it has been decided that it would be best to focus these on a slightly smaller range of countries. However, we expect to review this situation again in advance of the 2015 competition.

Terms and conditions and eligibility
•Commonwealth Scholarships 2014 prospectus – includes full terms and conditions (please note in particular the eligibility criteria) (available shortly)
You must provide a statement of support from at least one of your chosen UK universities, in order for your application to be eligible.

Applications are considered according to the following selection criteria:

•Academic merit of the candidate
•Quality of the proposal
•Potential of the candidate to lead in the pursuit of global excellence in research and knowledge
All applicants will be considered on their intellectual and academic merits and on the quality of their research proposal. As Commonwealth Scholarships for candidates from developed Commonwealth countries are funded by BIS, an important criterion is the candidate’s potential to contribute to world-class research and scholarship. In addition to attracting candidates of the highest academic ability, BIS is keen to support applicants whose research will help sustain international recognition of the UK higher education system and who seek to become leaders in their chosen profession and for the benefit of wider society.

See Selection criteria for 2014 Commonwealth Scholarships for developed Commonwealth country citizens for further details (available shortly).

Please note that the CSC does not impose any age limit on applicants for its awards, but national nominating agencies may do so in line with their own priorities.

Levels of study
You can apply for a Commonwealth Scholarship for the following levels of study:

•Split-site, where the CSC supports one year’s study at a UK university as part of a PhD being undertaken in your home country
The CSC does not offer scholarships to candidates from developed Commonwealth countries who have already started their PhD study in the UK.

Commonwealth Scholarships for developed Commonwealth country citizens are offered under a part funding arrangement between the CSC and UK universities. Under this arrangement, the CSC will fund two years of a three-year PhD and the host university will fund one year. Agreements to part fund scholarships will be negotiated individually for selected candidates; applicants are advised to make this clear to their chosen universities. A scholarship cannot normally proceed without the university’s agreement to the part funding arrangement.

Funding information


Fees, travel and maintenance

Number of awards per year:

up to 200

Funding applies to:
International (non-EU) applicants
Funding notes:

Commonwealth countries only

Funding duration:

up to 3 years

Contacts and how to apply

Administrative contact and how to apply:

All applications must be made through your nominating agency in your home country. You must check with them in the first instance for specific advice on how to make an application and for their own closing date. The CSC cannot accept any applications direct from candidates.

The CSC expects all Commonwealth Scholarship candidates to be nominated by an approved nominating agency, and to have completed an application form using our Electronic Application System (EAS).

Full help on how to apply using the EAS is provided in our guides, which should be read in full before making any attempt to use the EAS.

The EAS will close to applicants on 3 December 2013 and no further applications can be made after that date. The CSC will not accept any applications which are not submitted via the EAS to the nominating agency in the candidate’s home country.

How to access the EAS:

Commonwealth Scholarships Commission
Woburn House
20-24 Tavistock Square
+44 207 380 6700

Deadline notes:

For receipt of nominations in London.