The March 2017 deadline has now passed. This entry will be updated as soon as details of the next round of funding is announced
Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are offered by the CSC in partnership with UK universities. These scholarships are intended for students from developing countries who would not otherwise be able to afford to undertake Master’s level study in the UK, to gain skills and knowledge which will allow them to contribute to the development of their home countries.

Levels and subjects of study
Shared Scholarships are for taught Masters’ courses only; awards will not be made for undergraduate or PhD study, and will not cover any pre-sessional English language teaching.

Candidates can apply to study subjects related to the development of their home country at participating UK universities only.
List of participating universities and eligible courses
Shared Scholarships are usually tenable for one-year Master’s courses only.

Administrative Contacts & How To Apply

All applications must be made through your host UK university. You must check with them in the first instance for specific advice on how to make an application and for their own closing date.

All Commonwealth Shared Scholarship candidates must be selected and put forward to the CSC by their host UK university, and must submit their application to the CSC using our Electronic Application System (EAS).

Candidates must apply for a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship using one of two methods, as instructed by the university:
Via university: Applying to the university in the first instance using the university’s own application form. If selected, candidates will then be asked to submit an application to the CSC using the EAS. Any applications made via the EAS only and not directly to the university first will not be considered.
EAS only: Applying to both the university and the CSC at the same time using the EAS.

Each university has its own closing date for applications. Any applications received after this date will be deemed ineligible.
Candidates may apply to more than one university, but only one offer of a Shared Scholarship may be accepted.

Full help on how to apply using the EAS is provided in our guides, which should be read in full before making any attempt to use the EAS.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme
Commonwealth Scholarship Commission
c/o Association of Commonwealth Universities
Woburn House, 20-24 Tavistock Square
London WC1H 9HF

Telephone : 44 (0) 207 380 6700
Fax : 44 (0) 207 387 2655
E-Mail : [email protected]

Funding Notes

Commonwealth countries only

Funding Information

Add to list