PhD Studentships Focused on the Future of Physics with Seven World-Class Universities

  • South East, All EnglandSouth East, All England


SEPnet PhD Studentships
Take seven world-class universities. Combine their strengths. Bring together their knowledge. And join their resources. Then offer PhD programmes focused on the future of physics with them.

That’s exactly what SEPnet, a consortium of universities in South East England, have done. The South East Physics Network is made up of the University of Kent, the University of Portsmouth, Queen Mary, University of London, Royal Holloway, University of London, the University of Southampton, the University of Surrey, and the University of Sussex. Add to that our association with Oxford University and Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, and you’ll begin to see just what’s on offer.

We’re working to raise the profile of physics – and to provide the best facilities for postgraduate study too. The PhD programmes on offer here focus on our key research themes including astrophysics, atomic and condensed matter, particle physics, photonics, radiation detection and instrumentation, theoretical physics and many other key areas in modern physics.

You’ll benefit from outstanding facilities and expertise – and one of the best collaborative programmes of teaching and research available.
Find out more about our research strengths, how to apply and other postgraduate study options at

Learn more about SEPnet: South East Physics Network

Where is SEPnet: South East Physics Network?