The Leigh Douglas Memorial Prize was established jointly in 1986 by the Leigh Douglas Memorial Fund and BRISMES in memory of Dr Leigh Douglas who was killed in Beirut in 1986.

The prize is awarded annually to the writer of the best PhD dissertation on a Middle Eastern topic in the Social Sciences or Humanities awarded by a British University.

The deadline for submission of entries is 31st January each year.  

The current value of the prize is £600 for the winner and £150 for the runner up. We believe this to be a very worthwhile award and would encourage all supervisors to bring it to the attention of their students.

Details of how to submit for the 2019 prize will be released shortly. 

Administrative Contacts & How To Apply

For more details and how to apply please see here:

Funding Information

Application Deadline:

31 January each year

Please see our website for how to apply:
Visit Website Add to list